EXSA awards 2016

During the conference dinner of the EXRS 2016 the new elected president of EXSA, Michael Kolbe, bestowed the EXSA awards of 2016.

The EXSA award on outstanding achievement in X-ray Spectrometry was awarded to Koen Janssens, Belgium.
Koen Janssens ©EXSA 20160623
Professor Koen Janssens studied chemistry in Antwerp and was already during his master thesis entitled ‘An Expert System for the automated interpretation of Electron induced X-ray spectra’ and his PhD thesis on ‘Automated Data Handling in X ray Analysis: An integration of Expert Systems and conventional software’ involved in X-ray spectrometry.
After 15 years in various positions at the Belgian National Science Fund in Brussels he came back to the University of Antwerp, where he became first an Assistant Research professor. Meanwhile he is Full Professor there.
According to the ISI Web-of-Science he has published as author/coauthor more than 200 regular and review papers in high impact journals receiving so far more than 4000 citations and achieved an h-factor better than 35.
In recent years one of his main scientific focuses was the investigation of art objects. His paper on the Use of microscopic XRF for non-destructive analysis in Art and Archaeometry has almost 150 citations over the last 15 years.

The young scientist (Post-Doc) award was bestowed to Dimosthenis Sokaras, USA.
He studied physics in Athens, Greece and started his scientific career at the National Center For Scientific Research “DEMOKRITOS”.
Dimosthenis Sokaras received his PhD diploma in 2010 (NTUA in collaboration with N.C.S.R “Demokritos”) after submitting a thesis entitled ”Development of new techniques for elemental analysis and inner-shell atomic physics research using proton-induced x-rays”. Since 2010 he has been working at Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory as research associate and associate staff scientist. Currently he holds the position of staff scientist with his major activities being focused on advanced x-ray spectroscopy.

EXSA congratulates all laureates.